Skip to content

Is it Possible to Cheat in Yoga?

June 4, 2013

I often struggle with “monkey mind” in yoga class, particularly during slower movements and floor work. The stresses and oddities of life creep in and then, like spiders, build webs to more and more thoughts and it’s a vicious cycle. I know that I should be in the moment and a large portion of my work is mental!

Last week, in a mentally challenging vinyasa class, I found that I’d gone through most of the class without the regular chatter between my ears. It was so odd to me that I wondered if I’d found a way to cheat and short-circuit my brain!

This week’s link is an essay from a college yoga teacher who is also wrestling with cheating in the yoga studio:

Recently I witnessed behavior that almost shocked me. It was definitely a lesson for me, but in truth I haven’t fully processed it…

I never dreamed I’d look up to catch someone cheating on a 10 point yoga quiz!

What do you think? Is it possible to cheat in yoga?

-Courtney Sorrell

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 7, 2013 9:20 pm

    I only do yoga occasionally, but sometimes I feel like I cheat it…or more appropriately I do it wrong. For instance, in downward dog, I feel like I either have hands to close to my feet which lets my heels get lower than I’m really capable of. I also feel like sometimes I can get into position, but I am compensating certain things to get in the position instead of getting into it properly. Occasionally I will get a good teacher who will correctly, but it seems most don’t like to confront….or maybe I am wrong and I am actually doing it right…I don’t know!!!

Leave a Reply

