Skip to content

Homemade Granola Bars

March 26, 2012
From: Stephanie Paulosky
I am always on the go and like to carry home made granola bars with me to keep my energy up/blood sugar stable. I work for Shoreline Fruit during the day – we have the best dried fruits to add to the mix! Sometimes, I’ll add unsweetened cherries or cranberries, but my favorite is dried, diced apples with cinnamon.
Lightly spray 9×13 baking pan and set aside.

Reserve 1 to 1 1/2 cups dried fruit.  (I am totally guessing on this because I just dump fruit in until it looks good!)

In a bowl combine:

2 cups oats

1/2 cup wheat germ

1/4 cup ground flax seed

3/4 to 1 cup chopped almonds

1/2 cup sunflower seeds (I like the salty contrast but you can use plain also)

1/2 cup coconut flakes

Mix and spread on a cookie sheet.  Put in 400° oven for about 15 minutes.  Stir two or three times while toasting.

While dry mix is toasting combine the following in a medium sauce pan:

1/2 cup packed lt brown sugar

1 cup honey

1 to 2  tsp molasses (depends on how much you like molasses.  I used a full Tbsp)

2 Tbsp butter

Cook until brown sugar is no longer coarse.  When ready, combine your dry granola mixture to the sauce pan.  Add 1 to 1 1/2 cups dried fruit.  Stir until dry ingredients are wet.  Turn all ingredients into baking pan and firmly pack like rice crispy treats.  Let set up for a couple hours.  If you like a crunchier granola bar,  bake at 350° for about 10-15 minutes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

