Skip to content

Sara Jones’s Smoothie

February 8, 2012

Many people think making a smoothie is just too much of a mess to deal with. They don’t want to have to worry about cleaning the blender or figuring out how much of each ingredient to put in.

My mom purchased an individual serving size blender called the Magic Bullet for me and it has made a world of difference. It takes me two to three minutes to go from ingredients to smoothie, and, best of all, it makes me feel good!

 

 

I don’t think it’s possible to go wrong when choosing ingredients to make a smoothie. I can honestly say I have never had a smoothie I didn’t like. However, I do feel that the body craves the nutrients that it needs, so mine are generally consistent most days. Frozen fruit is great because it is the next best thing to fresh, but much more practical for every day usage.


Ingredient ideas:

  • Peaches
  • Pineapple
  • Mango
  • Strawberry
  • 1/4 Banana
  • Blueberry Kefir (optional)
  • Apple Juice
  • Cranberry/ Blueberry Juice
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Matcha (Magic Ingredient)
  • Raspberry Emergen-c

 

Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Josh Janowiak permalink
    February 9, 2012 10:22 am

    I love the Magic Bullet for all the reasons you listed in your blog. Being that it’s so easy to clean and not near the hassle of using a full sized blender for a single serving, I find myself using it often. Contrary to product reviews that call the Magic Bullet cheap, I had my first Magic Bullet for 5 years and the motor never burned out. A little plastic piece broke on the base which lead me to replace it, but a new base was only $15!

    Frozen fruit is great in smoothies. If mixed with just the right amount of liquid, it gives you the perfect shake-like consistency. I throw in a little protein powder, wheat germ and ground flax to round out my drinks. The protein powder yields the perfect sweetness for the smoothie.

    The single serving size is also perfect for making hummus and salsa. Recipes for both are included in the kit. Just remember, the Magic Bullet is a blender, it pulverizes. It doesn’t do so well on the fine chopping that they also promote in its sales pitch.

Leave a Reply

